From my heart to Istanbul


Image

this picture quite aptly sums up to me the essence of Istanbul-

Photo credit: Wikimedia commons

We just got back today from beautiful Istanbul. Landed in London, from 23 degrees Celsius to 3 degrees, needless to say my body, nor I were too excited about this dramatic temperature drop. Luckily, sunny skies greeted us and not the perpetual rain. I have been struck by my usual post-travels depression bouts, then again who wouldn’t be if they were returning from the beautiful, soulful, and cultural city of Istanbul to this comparatively bland city of London.

I saw many things, learnt an even more about the Turkish history, fell in love with the city, and the people. I can go on and on about the amazing food, but all I know is that I have left a big chunk of my heart in that city. I have a lot to say about Istanbul and share my experience, and I will in the coming days.

Istanbul definitely is a unique city and MUST be experienced at least once in your life. But, if you are anything like me, you know your soul will always crave going back there. I feel, my soul may have found a home in Istanbul.

The whole five day experience was absolutely amazing, and it ended with us finding two Turkish friends towards the tail end, but I hope that we can keep in touch with them through the years and only build a stronger bond.

Now, off to bed, but will come back with more to say, pictures to share and tips for other travelers out there.

One thought on “From my heart to Istanbul

Let me hear you roar!

